Veal, f’real

Wednesday, January 18, 1939

18th Day–347 Days to Follow

The quilters came & tacked my wool quilt. Present: Ronning, Stockton, Davis, Stewart, Gilley, Graves & Brown.

Had a big veal roast. Grace & Ronning brought pumpkin pies; Graves had salad & Gilley onions.

– – – – – + – – – – – + – – – – – + – – – – –

 

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

 

A wool quilt — how warm would that be?! We could use a little extra warmth around here, since I can’t seem to regulate the temperature very well. I bump up the thermostat on the gas stove and the living room and kitchen get to a blaring temperature, while the front and bedrooms are frigid. I’m looking forward to the days after the estate & garage sales, when we can use the other fireplace to heat this side of the house.

 

We got a little bit more snow today, but it was no snowmageddon as folks had predicted. Just light steady snow, probably another inch or two altogether. Which means we have 10 inches piled up, all of it still powdery soft. I took the dog out this morning and attempted to pull together the base for a snow person, but it just crumbled no matter how much I tried to pack it in. I abandoned that, but when my roommate (J) was sent home early from work we got the brilliant idea to ride our bikes up the street. Our very old bikes with very old tires. Up the still very snowy street, without a plow in sight. It was slow going, but we made it about four houses down before turning around and sliding our way back. No one was injured in the making of this 10 minutes of silliness. Later we braved the streets and drove to the store (in the same neighborhood as our house) to grab a pizza…quite a long way from veal roast and pumpkin pie, huh?

 

I spent some time online today, looking into articles on “progressive” Christianity sites. I chewed on one particularly frustrating article all day, then talked with my aunt about it over the phone, during our first of hopefully many weekly chats. I left “the church” quite a few years back…going on six now, I think, and have immersed myself in other cultures, which some might call counter-. So, when putting myself back into the Christian arena, I am continually shocked that “women in the church” is still a brand new conversation for so many folks. It’s disheartening, and then I remember how widespread the mindset is. How do we take the theory of inclusivity and apply it to an institution steeped in oppressive patriarchy? How can I even entertain thoughts of wanting to do work in reconciliation of oppressed people and “the church?” Do I have to choose one or the other? Because, at the moment, it feels like I must.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

